Tchaikovsky Symphony No. 5


Tchaikovsky’s Fifth Symphony triumphs over fate, a journey through troubles into joy and ecstasy — and some of the greatest melodies ever given to us. Korngold’s lush Violin Concerto prefigures the Hollywood sound with high romance and gorgeous melodies — played for us by the masterful James Ehnes. And to begin the program, William Grant Still’s Poem takes us from darkness into light.


Joshua Weilerstein, Conductor

James Ehnes, Violin

Seattle Symphony

Read More